Hi Cassandra, it is really disappointing to receive a review like this and to hear that this is how you felt about your stay. However, as confirmed by Airbnb customer service, if you had spoken to us about any of these issues, we could have helped remedy them.
As Airbnb may have told you, you are required to report any issues within 24 hours to give us a chance to remedy them. But instead you decided to spend 2 days compiling a list and writing a damning review whilst also claiming a refund, which Airbnb have denied.
To confirm – the apartments were finished and first rented out in the high season of 2016. Perhaps I shouldn’t call them ‘brand’ new but 18 months still seems very new to us.
The toaster and kettle (which have been confirmed as having tiny specks of rust at the bottom), have been replaced. If only you had pointed out your issue, my assistant would have been able to apologise and swap them immediately. The bin has two specks of rust on the outside (I sent pictures to Airbnb) - I wonder how that effected your stay… Also, we could have sent someone in to look at the hot water issue or the ‘noisy’ air-con (which nobody has ever mentioned before). These types of things can happen anywhere but you didn’t tell us and so we couldn’t send someone in to take a look or fix it was agreed that there actually was an issue, which we would have done immediately. How would you deal with such issues at home? Would you seek to have them fixed? Remember this is a home rental you booked. Also, we have signs in the apartment bathrooms to show you how to optimise the temperature as we do always ensure we have hot water but there are settings which provide the right balance.
I can’t help but think that your perspective was influenced by your disappointment with the weather. Did you do any research on Koh Lanta before you decided to visit because if so, I am sure you would have discovered that May is one of the worst months for weather in Koh Lanta (which we can obviously do nothing about), hence our low rates at that time. That you feel that this does not represent good value is a shame and I’m sorry you had a bad experience but we can only control our apartment. Weather is something I can do nothing about. We cannot do anything about the fact that many restaurants close in May and on check-in my assistant said she clearly went through options with you with her local recommendations. I don’t know why you chose to ignore this or failed to mention things like this in your review... Regarding the beach and pool, in low season, most beaches on Koh Lanta and in fact the west coast of Thailand in general suffer from rubbish washing up on the beaches from all over Asia. But as we are in a bay, we have some ability to clean up the stuff dumped on the shores each morning and the management do their absolute best to keep on top of it. I have actually been sent photos of the morning after your arrival, which I forwarded to Airbnb customer service, and the beach was spotless! Also, if you had spoken to our assistant, you would have been told that there had just been a small storm before you arrived… I was told you arrived in the evening and visited the pool after your arrival (in the evening), at which point some leaves etc. had dropped onto the pool but as always happens, this was cleaned first thing in the morning (8am) ready for guests to swim in that day. Again, I have seen pictures and the maintenance team did a great job (I also forwarded these pictures to Airbnb customer service). To confirm, the pool is cleaned DAILY in the morning, not in the evening (as it gets dark at 6.30pm). All Airbnb guests, who we consider independent travellers, who come to stay during season, do their research on Koh Lanta first. It is not a secret that May can be an unreliable month for weather and the seas washing things up all along the west coast but we pay high maintenance fees to combat the effects on the beach and pool as much as is possible. But there’s only so much we can do if there are storms. Airbnb customer service have agreed that we cannot be responsible for ‘acts of god’.
Re: the ‘errors’ in the check-in information. The one wrong digit in the WIFI code was resolved within 30 minutes and our assistant went through everything with you in person to ensure you had real-time information about local services. All amenities within Coconut Bay are finished but the restaurant was simply closed (we do not own the restaurant).
I highly suspect that you may be the type of guest who is never happy, and on this basis, I feel for other hosts that you may book with in the future. If you do intend to book with Airbnb again, try to manage your own expectations by reading the listings fully, looking at all of the photos, researching the destination you are visiting and if you do encounter any problems, in the spirit of Airbnb, report them rather than choosing to follow up with damning reviews and demands of refunds, as you may yet again, be disappointed with the response you receive.